Posted in social work

Good Deeds Day


Fresh air, pomp and colour filled the air in the not so crowded city under the sun on a Sunday mid morning (Sunday is actually the best day for walking in Nairobi). KICC was the place to be as the international day of volunteering went down in a terrific way. Good deeds marked every 2nd April is a day of doing good for a better society. Launched by Shari Arison, an Israel businesswoman and philanthropist, her remark during the launch summarizes what this event unfolds:

I believe that if people will think good, speak good and do good, the circles of goodness will grow in the world. Good Deeds Day has become the leading day of giving and this year individuals, school children, students, soldiers and employees from many businesses are joining in for the annual Good Deeds Day with the aim of doing a good deed for others

An invitation from my boss in our work WhatsApp group(one of the many reasons we love her), made me mark my calendar to a must attend event. All alone, I visited tent to tent interacting with the many organizations that had come to showcase their works. I was impressed by artists who make a living from their unique designs, internationals who had just got to the country and already had mastered our national lingo( Swahili ain’t hard after all), youths who were having different initiatives in uplifting our communities through advocacy, securing food security, changing street children lives to persons with disabilities who had embraced that disability is not inability and so much more.

My favorite segment was getting to ask questions, having one on one discussions made me go yay on my confidence, public speaking abilities and the part where cards are exchanged was a better way to create links. I got to add more on my knowledge plus embrace organizations I never knew. Can’t wait for the next one.

What did you do on this day?

For a collection of cards and fliers I got visit my Instagram page evanyambu for those details. PS: its is a private account, a request first will do the talking 😉.

 

Author:

Living my life, exploring it, yearning more of it and learning from it.

Your views will be appreciated

