Posted in cooking, food, Lifestyle, recipes, writing

Craving Addiction


My name is Evalyne Nyambura and I am an addict.

It all started with a little bite then it grew to a routine. So chewy and crunchy, caffeine, coke or cocoa would help smoothen it down my esophagus. Each morning I woke up with a crave that sent my stomach rumbling at its thought and no matter how I tried to refute the feeling I found myself going for them.

Maybe the addiction cropped up in high school where I spent my money aimlessly with no tomorrow but that made it even grow stronger. Out of high school and into university the trend never changed. Every coin would ensure that I consumed at least two of them to make me all energized and happy for the day.

Then I spotted a supplier who got them from God knows where, so saccharine that I had to close my eyes and let the sensation sink in. I had to on many occasions spot if the supplier had brought his goods or ask if he had been seen around. Luckily, he owned a motorcycle which was fast when it came to supplying items and whenever I had it screech I knew it was time.

This thing has always been referred to as “ngumu” meaning hard and the right English name according to some bloggers is soft mini mandazi. Brown in color on the outside and white on the inside this is my snack addiction among the many.

ngumu
my ngumus from my supplier

As to how it is prepared here are some helpful links:

http://www.africanbites.com/soft-mini-mandazi/ : http://stellasmeza.blogspot.co.ke/2013/01/mandazi-recipe-spiced-doughnut.html

What’s your craving  and can never go a day without?

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/craving/

Author:

Living my life, exploring it, yearning more of it and learning from it.

14 thoughts on “Craving Addiction

      1. lol. Its *pepper-soup. you know, pepper. It’s more like a stock of meat in a soup bowl for a serving, that’s all. The *pepper* just indicates that its spicy.
        You know how you steam your meat (or chicken, beef, fish) till it’s cooked, its the meat stock (when co

        Like

  1. lol. Its *pepper-soup. you know, pepper. It’s more like a stock of meat in a soup bowl for a serving, that’s all. The *pepper* just indicates that its spicy.
    You know how you steam your meat (or chicken, beef, fish) till it’s cooked, its the meat stock that’s being expanded and added into it some local herbs and PEPPER. Different people add different kind of herbs. But the idea is, you’re having a plate of so many pieces of meat surrounded in light soup (the meat’s juice). you get?

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Hmm could be:
        1) yam.(after the peeled out the skin) For pounded yam. Pounded yam is eaten with soups. You know, the already pound yam is moulded into a small ball, dipped in the soup and swallowed. Loool it sounds queer but its actually tasty. well, that’s if the soup is tasty. The combo is superb. its one of the most common eaten meals in Nigeria!
        2) cocoyam. This one is really sticky compared to yam. after pounding, its used in soup preparation. (You can tell by now that we take a lot of soups. And there are over 200 tribes in Nigeria and different tribes have their different soups). Anyways its added to thicken a soup. There are other ways for thickening, this is just one of them. All so that the soup viscous enough. if not, it wont go well with the pounded yam, or the other stuffs taken with soup! ^^

        Liked by 1 person

Your views will be appreciated

